top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Too close to home and heart

The Caldor Fire broke out August 14 in the Middle Fork Cosumnes canyon not far from where Hatch and I lived for 24 years. The house he built was evacuated in the fire’s first days and remains evacuated. We’d often train our dogs in National Forest off Caldor Road.


Traveling the Caldor Fire


I meant to drive upcountry for the tingle

of blue-blue summit air, the forever vistas.

Instead, I’m watching early morning TV

for acres burned, evacuation orders,

ghosts of fire-lit clouds of smoke

hazing mountains and our foothills home,

too close. So far, we’re safe.

Freeway on- & off-ramps closed to let

the stream of refugees pour down –

horse trailers, RVs, SUVs packed bumper-

to-bumper. I’m going nowhere

except in memory, house we built by hand

on a ridgetop and lived in for decades

among mazes of winding pothole 2-lanes

and logging roads, and miles of forest

for hiking. On TV I watch those

miles of forest torching, red-white spiral

flame taking wing from the tops

of ponderosa pine, incense cedar.

So far, so close. I’m traveling those

well-known places

I won’t see the same again.


~ Taylor Graham




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page