top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

The prompt was "write an office poem"

This Is My Office


I’m up before first light,

let the dogs out into the dark wild

and listen for Screech Owl whispering

her soft falling call from somewhere

very close, maybe an oak over-leaning

the tool shed. This is the time

when sight gives over to sound, smell,

touch – if it might rain, or a breeze

stirring news off the higher hills.

My office is between

bedrock mortar and hydraulic monitor,

roadside chicory, a glimpse of fox.

Driving the gold trail, I’ll see

field and orchard disappear into a haze

of distant forest, the Crystal Range.

This is my office. It has to do

with the work of seeing, telling.

It has to do with wonder

and praise.


~ Taylor Graham


from Windows of Time and Place: Poems of El Dorado County (www.coldriverpress.org)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page