top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Still on the move....

A poem from Wren Tuatha’s Pandemic//Planet//Protests: Poetry of Place workshop sponsored by Sacramento Poetry Center. The interrogation question was “where do you rest your horse?”

Resting My Horse

I rest my horse moving. Retired cowpony

with broken wind, OK at easy walk or canter,

me bareback, high-school light.

After-class reciting bits of the day’s lessons.

What if a much of a which of a wind

It revives me. Me and my horse,

Molly, safety of aloneness with a wordless

friend. I think fresher on the move.

Does my horse? Easy head-lift samples

the air, gauges wind down a dry canyon,

off mountains beyond miles of alfalfa fields.

True rest requires water.

That comes later, back at the barn.

Our rest is stretching bored muscles,

settling into a pace that goes on

almost forever in a high-school mind.

Always moving.

~ Taylor Graham



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page