top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Revisiting

Not long ago Loki and I walked the Institute of Forest Genetics grounds - open to the public again after winter storms. The place I needed to walk on the morning Hatch died. This poem recalls that late-April walk:


Back to the Forest


The morning you left, I missed

my intended turn and somehow found myself

at the arboretum gate.

The steady patience, the quiet

healing of a forest.

A sign said Arboretum Closed.

Trees fallen across trails,

one on top of another in winter storms,

woods unsafe for public walking.

I told the lady at the desk about you –

old forester, search-and-rescue partner

who showed me this place,

taught me to walk on shaky ground.

Your spirit still alive here

to walk with me among breathing trees.

How could she say no?


~ Taylor Graham




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page