top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Remembering our dead

In this season when the veil between living and dead seems most permeable, I happened on a poem I wrote 20 years ago for our old dog Taco. Lest it get lost again in heaps of time and paper….


Taco Looks Back a Lifetime


My humans supposed

they taught me how to use my nose –

still a puppy, just three days with a family

I never chose. We drove over winding

roads, to a fresh June creek where I rolled

in grass that was all my own. Then

my master disappeared, and everyone

clapped when I showed

I could find him with my nose.


A dozen years we drove that road.

I’d wake from watchful sleep, smelling

out the car window how grasses

fared and creekwater flowed.

I’d smile and pant, ready to work, but

my humans never chose to stop

there again. I’d learned my lessons,

I suppose. But a puppy-place

lives forever in an old dog’s nose.


~ Taylor Graham




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page