top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Poem for an old dog

Inhale the Sky

for Cowboy


My dog’s tracking our quarry -- across grass

to tennis courts, along the shady treeline. Then


whoop! He cuts south, breeze full

in my face, behind my back – hide & seek


with sky and my dog swings wide and happy.

Head high. Forget that step-by-step


trail of evidence, every wrong turn

the “lost man” made. Cowboy was born to range


unfenced give-him-land far from road

give him hills and valleys, green grass playing-


field on summer break, he intercepts

scent free-flowing on the briefest breeze.


Straight to his quarry – the wrong way, who

cares? He’s old enough to be retired,


to lie at my feet and dream.

Just this morning, let him lift his nose


off the ground,

inhale the sky entire.


~ Taylor Graham



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page