top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

On Shingle Creek

Arriving at Wakamatsu Farm early for Indigenous Peoples’ Day, I walked the trail along pond’s edge the way the egret flew.


The Pond This Morning


Egret wings its morning song

low across the water, rising, surveying

wetland before settling high

in a ghost pine farther east. Bird of light and

hungers. This bird I’m thankful

to see each time I visit, from a distance –

my human distance. What can

I know of an egret’s hungers? The pond is

a blessing, breathing in slight

ripples, patterns ever changing. Dragonfly

over water. I see flight

as a thanks-song, a query, a request – or

dare I call it a prayer?

I’m lost in my human words for this morning.


~ Taylor Graham



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page