top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Meditation in waiting

I may have written this in my head while waiting for a search dog to discover me well-camouflaged in woods – waiting for the dog to find and then convince its handler to believe what’s detectable to a dog’s nose. Original title: Unwanted Visitors:


Expecting Visitors


I can lie here like a log when someone’s coming.

I can climb under bark and deadfall, dry leaves

in this land of trees and squirrels, of logs

suspicious of trucks and chainsaws.

Two spring trickles become a stream over moss

and small rocks, coming together to gather

a pond and go on its way. I can be a log

beside a pond: speechless, invisible giving off

scant breath, a little scent carried off on the breeze.

Someone already is past or will be passing

somewhere else. A log sleeps in its rings,

its unique thumbprint, sloughing off its bark

becoming unsplittable wood.


~ Taylor Graham


from Still Life with Wood Smoke (Mt. Aukum Press, 2002)


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page