top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Lost without a dog

When Loki passed in late March, it was my first time in 52 years without a dog; part of me had disappeared. I chose a rescue dog – Otis, 14-month-old Shepherd mix who already had lost three homes in his short life. He’s mostly sweet, but a very big, strong “puppy” with a lot to learn. After four weeks here, he’s just started to play....


Tug-o-War Dance


Otis keeps nudging my shoulder, I’m trying

to type but he’s persistent as a dog who’s finally

found his home. Clasped in his wolfish jaws,

a fat stiff length of rope in Xmas colors with ragged

ends. It’s play time! I give in, grab both ends

as he pulls with heft and muscle of a grown dog

and exuberance of a puppy. He knows

the moves. We twist and pendulum back & forth.

He’s rough. I mind my grip. He wraps one

big paw around my shin. We’re swinging, jolting,

bartering & partnering, bonding in the roughest

play I dare. At last, regrouping, he gives slack.

I take it, and step back. The game is done –

at least for now. And the poem

I was trying to type? Oh, it’s been writing itself

in my head and spine, bounce & twist....

 

~ Taylor Graham




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page