top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

In time of COVID (a poem by Taylor Graham)

It’s in the Air


That old tingling – anticipation,

The moment my search dog’s nose lifts,

eye brightens, stride lengthens,

pulled by invisible thread.

Scent of a lost child, an old man

wandering from his life: our quarry.

For years I followed my dogs on search,

reading weather and topography,

how they mesh and clash.


Today, masked for our COVID world,

I imagine invisible microscopic

particles traveling, pooling,

hovering like smoke; heavier or lighter;

how they cling variably

to surfaces; my dog intently sniffing

trailside brush, a bit of surveyor’s tape

tied to a tree; how long

the particles can live there.


Poet not scientist, analogy not proof –

I’m still searching as I go,

hoping to keep myself from getting lost.


~ Taylor Graham


first appeared on Medusa’s Kitchen blog (http://medusaskitchen.blogspot.com)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page