top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Getting my mountain-fix

After the Caldor Fire, and then so much snow last winter in the high country, some roads were slow to re-open; but I promised myself a trip up there this July – just Loki and me and my memories:


Birthday Hike with Dog


The peaks are taking off their snowy

cassocks, letting them ripple downstream

to bloom as columbine and paintbrush

in the meadow,

and the whistle song of chickadee

and nutcracker's gravelly call.

Loki thrusts her muzzle deep into green

I couldn't name, stopping me

on the edge of our upward trail to sniff

who knows what. This hike

a birthday gift to myself, and my dog

as guide, partner, companion.

Generations of shepherd-dogs have

led me up this trail. It's Loki's first time;

and already she knows more

about it than I ever will.

Her stop gives me pause to notice

what I call red trumpet-flower

playing its wind-song to cloudless sky

on a reborn Sierra morning.


~ Taylor Graham



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page