top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Encroachment

A certain meadow surrounding a tule pond and Miwok bedrock mortars appears destined to soon become a subdivision. I was walking my new dog there the other day, and visited this old dead tree asking for its perspective:


The Old Snag Speaks


I’m wrinkled and gray-skinned, sentinel

over meadow; I’m wise survivor, though dead.

Alive in spirit. My corpse gives life to life

around me. Wildlife-tree, nesting and shelter

for birds and small beasts. I’m a totem.

From different angles, a great lizard, or raptor

with fearsome beak; or bear lifting one paw

begging to let me remain here. My old friend

trees are long gone, fallen, or cut down

in their prime. I’m an anachronism. I know

the world is changing. We green beings

have our underground networks; we get news

on the wind in our leaves. In this wildflower

meadow are plates with words pressed into metal:

Sanitary Sewer. Man-holes. Soon this meadow

will be gone to streets, houses, garages. I’ll

be gone – not left to bow to nature’s plan,

becoming soil and new life, but felled

by chainsaw, hauled from my homeland

in pieces. Useless.

 

~ Taylor Graham




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page