top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Day in March

Ten years ago we lost Hatch’s search partner Piper. I remember how, in her last days, she’d gaze across the swale where I still feel her presence.


Midnight in the Garden of Rebirth

for Piper (February 1998-March 2011)


Earth’s Ferris wheel gone berserk – tremors

across the Rim of Fire deep in rock under ocean,

tsunami’s crazy arc full-swing over-sweeping

the TV screen. That night I dreamed of you

flying the higher tiers of our house – skimming

ceiling, bedroom to hall, maybe headed

for the dog-yard door, guiding on your sense

of escape from what tried to contain you. Life’s

losses: your stride; gazing across the swale

you used to run. Spirit’s dream of resurrection.

That day, ten years ago – remembered

for disaster across ocean; the day I remember

for losing you to sky. Then, driving your

body home, I squinted to see rain-clouds shot

through by one lucent ray. Last night

it rained again to green your grave. Walking

the swale, I’m grateful for your sign, your flight.


~ Taylor Graham



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page