top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Covering the ground (a poem by Taylor Graham)

Boots Off the Trail

for the Bell Tower girls, search of summer 1984


My boots bore me summer-long searching

up Iron Mountain and down North-South

Road. I stopped at turn-outs and logging decks,

let my dog out of the car to check old fire pits,

hiked the dust of rutted skid trails. No sign

of you. I didn’t find you at Stonebreaker

Creek where foxglove and columbine nod

their secrets of green in the shade of running

water. You weren’t among the boulders

at Capps Crossing, or down Dogtown Creek.

No trace of you at Henrys Diggins, or the trail

to Blue Gouge Mine. My dog showed me

stubbed-out cigarette butts and rusting cans.

In June above Fleming Meadow, I felt a shiver

of breeze like ghost-breath, as if you might

have passed there. My boots never asked

where we were going. They just put one foot

in front of the other as my dog and I

checked off blanks of stillness on the map.


~ Taylor Graham


from Windows of Time and Place: Poems of El Dorado County (www.coldriverpress.org)




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page