top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Believe your dog (again!) (a poem by Taylor Graham)

Lesson

for Sardy


Midnight callout to a strange town.

Two small boys missing from school. Dim

streetlights, rows of dark shops and sheds.

My dog lifted her nose, led me

to a vacant lot; an old reefer.

Could those boys really be in there?

My dog insisted. Inside, deeper dark.

A cat leaped and hissed.

By flashlight, piles of junk.

My dog had found a cat in a reefer.


When did it hit me?

Search dogs don’t alert on cats.


Back to the reefer. My dog whined –

pleaded with me just short of English.

I stepped deeper into dark.

On a heap of old canvas, the cat –

large tabby in hiss-arch, ears flat back.

From an edge of canvas

dangled a tiny hand. Attached to an arm.

Two blond heads, boys who skipped

school. Fast asleep.


Two young truants taught me,

you can hide under a cat,

but the dog will find you.


~ Taylor Graham


From What the Wind Says (www.lummoxpress.com)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page