top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Believe your dog! (a poem by Taylor Graham)

Hide and Seek


I'm scrunched flat in a display case –

will you ever find me here?

The glass so smudged with seasons and neglect.

The room so dark and derelict.

Windows boarded.

Spiders own this place – cobwebs

above my head.


A sudden crack of light

chinks the gloom. Creak of feet

on wooden floor.

Can your dog hear my heartbeat

magnified in glass?

I could be a child abducted.

A store clerk trapped when earth shook

and the ceiling fell.


Today it’s just-pretend, a game.

I’m waiting for your dog to find me

in this dismal cache.

A beam of flashlight crosses, passes by.

The dog’s breath more insistent,

focused – closing in.

You scan me with your light,

find your own reflection smeared

on filthy glass.


You can’t imagine

I’d hide in such a place.

Your dog’s a whiz, but stuck

with a human partner who won’t believe

in possibilities.


~ Taylor Graham


from What the Wind Says (www.lummoxpress.com)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page