top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Belated Valentine

I celebrated February 14 with a hike on the highest stretch of El Dorado Trail, a segment I hadn’t been able to walk yet. Loki and I explored mid-Sierra forest at the same elevation and just a major canyon or two north of where Hatch and I lived for about half our married life in a house he built for us by hand. The weather was overcast but the hike lovely with oaks, conifers, and memories.


Everywhere and Everywhen

            for Hatch

 

I said I didn’t write love poems. But now

you’re gone, I wrap myself in your old blue

parka to walk the trail, feeling you just ahead

around a bend – scouting a way through berry

bramble, or pursing your lips in songbird

distress-call, hoping to draw that unseen bird

from the bush, or examining tracks in dust.

At gloaming you might be walking our land,

singing the Uist tramping song to summon

our dogs to the door at bedtime. Being gone,

you could be everywhere and everywhen.

You’re the things I love – dogs, mountains,

forest, adventure, searching for the lost.

Is this a love poem? If you believe it is.

 

~ Taylor Graham





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page