top of page
Search
  • hatchandjudygraham

Back "home" for Thanksgiving

For years Hatch and I lived a mile from National Forest and often trained our dogs there - near where the 2021 Caldor Fire started. It burned all the way to Tahoe, 221.835 acres total, I've wanted to revisit, to see the forest coming back, but logging trucks on the rough little road gave me pause. Maybe they'd take a holiday for Thanksgiving:


Chance Discoveries

for Hatch


No logging trucks on Caldor Road today -

steep one-lane, no shoulder, winding thru manzanita thickets

up into forest. It burned two years ago, salvageable logs

barreling down this road non-stop now. But even loggers

might take holiday. It's Thanksgiving - my first since you passed.

My mission: to see if your almost-record Interior Live Oak

survived the fire. As we used to say, Trust Hatch to get us into

out-of-the-way difficult-to-get-to places and make

discoveries there. Now, thickets of manzanita skeletons mixed

with burned-out tree wells, jackstraw fallen trees.

Tall pines still standing scorched at the base, their canopies

still alive. Foot-high Ponderosa saplings everywhere.

A fresh Sugar Pine cone - mother-tree stands beside me.

Tiny shoots of Incense Cedar. Black Oak leaves

turned golden for Thanksgiving. I can't find your Live Oak

in this mess. There never was a trail, it was

only chance and your love of exploring led us there.

How we find the best things, it seems, by chance

or destiny. How I found you as you found me.


~ Taylor Graham




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page